The green stuff

Missionary work. What’s the first thing that comes to your mind? Black name tag? Mid-calf skirt? Seeing the light of the gospel permeate the eyes of your investigator? All great things. Well, the mid-calf skirts are debatable. But did you think about the cost of serving?

Most of the time, that’s one of the last things prospective missionaries think of. But it’s time to get serious.

The cost for a mission is $400 a month. No matter where you serve. Neat.

Now, I’m no math wiz, but that’ s $7,200 for you sisters, and $9,600 for you Elders. Sticker shock much?

Now, that $400 per month covers about everything you will need. In addition to having all transportation and housing costs taken care of, you will also receive a monthly allotment for food and living expenses. In my mission it was $130 for Elders and $140 for sisters. It depends on the cost of living in your mission.

Here’s the secret: budgeting, baby. It will become your best friend.

The best way to prepare for the cost of serving a mission is to plan now. It’s never too early to start saving for a mission. I had money saved up since high school that I was able to use. Putting a set amount away each month can be effective. That way you expect it regularly and you aren’t tempted to buy the newest season of the Walking Dead or the Big Bang Theory. Trust me, you can resist. (1 Cor. 10:13)

2 thoughts on “The green stuff

  1. First of all, I am in love with your blog! I’m going to be serving a mission at the end of the year and I start my papers in about May/June, I can’t wait to be a Sister! Anyways I was just wondering if you could explain how the finances work further. Like how money is received and anything other you could tell me, sorry if that’s an open ended question its just the financial aspect is what I know the least about. Thanks again and sorry if that came across confusing at all.
    You can email me personally if you prefer at tatatatia1994@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

