Light

I’m convinced that God is a conspirator. #inthebestwaypossible #andboydoilovehimforit

It’s happened before, it will happen again.

From time to time, the Lord seems to direct all my thoughts, conversations and attention in one direction until I learn an essential “Emmilie Lesson.” More often than not, I’m left standing there, all dizzy like, as if  a very blunt object has come into painfully close contact with my prideful head.

Here’s the short version:

I’ve been stressed lately. Oh, you can relate? Weird. (but great.)

I couldn’t locate where the worry was coming from. Where the angst was buried. I couldn’t pinpoint my anxiety on a map of my soul even if I tried.

Suddenly, He struck. The Lord was ready to teach me a lesson.

In what turned out to be the culmination of many conversations, realizations and inspirations, I sat in the front seat of a green Corolla pouring my soul out to a boy I love when it hit me.

I am not my past. 

Sweet.

Blessed.

Relief.

It washed over me like a wave of unspeakable peace.

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 1.30.51 PM

Light.

I don’t have to hold onto the experiences of my youth. My refiner’s fires. My gethsemane. My wrong choices. My stumbling blocks.

The atonement of Jesus Christ made it possible for us to have a magnificent, bright future no matter what the shade of our past.

Light always dispels darkness.

Elder Holland said this:

“The past is to be learned from but not lived in. We look back to claim the embers from glowing experiences but not the ashes. And when we have learned what we need to learn and have brought with us the best that we have experienced, then we look ahead and remember that faith is always pointed toward the future. Faith always has to do with blessings and truths and events that will yet be efficacious in our lives.”

and this:

“Dismiss the destructive, and keep dismissing it until the beauty of the Atonement of Christ has revealed to you your bright future and the bright future of your family, your friends, and your neighbors. God doesn’t care nearly as much about where you have been as He does about where you are and, with His help, where you are willing to go.”

Remember, Satan does not love you.

You are not your past.

Fill your life with light.

Now, nearly 3 years later, I am learning a similar lesson, but in a different way. Those bittersweet moments called life that have happened over the past 25 years do not define me. The atonement of Christ empowers me.

Satan does not love me.

I am not my past.

Fill my life with light.

Whatever your struggle, whatever your pain, Jesus Christ has paved the way. He never calls us to fail. Go forward.

Read this talk.

Watch this video:

Go. Spread the light and bring others to a knoweldge of the sweetness of the atoning sacrifice of Him who loved us first.

4 thoughts on “Light

    • I’m so happy to hear that! I honestly post things and just pray that it’s what someone needs to hear. Thank you so much for telling me. And good luck, friend!

Leave a Reply

